Change Location × Dublin

    Recent Locations

      Irish PEN Award Dinner 2019 in Dublin

      • Irish PEN Award Dinner 2019 Photo #1
      1 of 1
      February 22, 2019

      Friday   7:00 PM

      • No Performers Listed
      Irish PEN Award Dinner 2019

      The 2018 Irish PEN Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Irish Literature will be given to Catherine Dunne We are honoured that the Award will be presented by Minister Josepha Madigan, Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, at The Irish PEN Annual Dinner on Friday 22nd February 2019 at  The Royal St George Yacht Club, Dún Laoghaire,  Co. Dublin. Catherine Dunne is the author of ten published novels including The Things We Know Now, which won the Giovanni Boccaccio International Prize for Fiction (2013) and was shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards. The Years That Followed was long listed for the International Dublin Literary Award 2018. She has also published one work of non-fiction:  An Unconsidered People.  Catherine’s novels have also been short listed for the Irish Novel of the Year and the Italian Booksellers’ Prize and have been translated into several languages. She has just completed her eleventh novel, The Way the Light Falls. Irish PEN is the Centre in Ireland for PEN, an international association of writers which promotes literature and defends freedom of expression. Anyone can sign the PEN Charter on and associate membership is open to all. Full membership is open to all qualified writers who sign the charter. PEN, which stands for poets, playwrights, editors, essayists and novelists, is a non-political organization with special consultative status at UNESCO and the United Nations. Founded in 1921, it has from its earliest days in Ireland been associated with Lady Gregory, W.B. Yeats, and Lord Longford.  In 1998 Irish PEN set up an award to honour an Irish writer who has made an outstanding contribution to Irish Literature. This Award is for a significant body of work, written and produced over a number of years, and is open to novelists, playwrights, poets, and scriptwriters. Full and associate members of Irish PEN, as well as previous winners, nominate and vote for the candidate and the chosen writer is presented with the Award in the company of other writers at our annual dinner. In keeping with the tradition started in 1935, (when the WB Yeats Dinner took place), the annual Irish PEN Award is presented in the company of other leading writers.  Members of Irish PEN nominate the candidate. Since 1999, the award recipients have included John B Keane, Brian Friel, Edna O’Brien, William Trevor, John McGahern, Neil Jordan, Seamus Heaney, Jennifer Johnston, Maeve Binchy, Thomas Kilroy, Roddy Doyle, Joseph O’Connor, John Banville and Frank McGuiness, Éilís Ní Dhuibhne and Anne Enright. Guests arrive for 7pm. Please bring your eTicket to the door. Irish PEN has no external funding and therefore your membership fees are essential to keep us running! Join us in supporting PEN International's fight to support freedom of expression via our Freedom to Write Campaign. Find out more here.

      Categories: Neighborhood

      Event details may change at any time, always check with the event organizer when planning to attend this event or purchase tickets.